Shostakovich: Violin & Viola Sonatas

Release Year: 2006
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Sonata for violin and piano, Op.134. Orchestrated by Michail Zinman; percussion arranged by Andrei Pushkarev

1. Andante

2. Allegretto

3. Largo – Andante – Largo

Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op.147. Orchestrated by Vladimir Mendelsson

1. Moderato

2. Allegretto

3. Adagio

Listen Online
Reviews and impressions

Gidon Kremer and his marvellous Kremerata Baltica respond to the music with searing commitment, the audience remaining totally gripped throughout the performance. – Classical Music

Yuri Bashmet plays with uncommon commitment and is given unstinting support by Kremerata Baltica. – Gramophone

Gidon Kremer is of course a master in this music, defining the material in narrative terms, moving us with chilling tears or urging us into action with passionate passagework or rhythmic grit. – MusicWeb International